poem, poetry, Uncategorized

the infinitive

what is more maddening
than a curtain held with tape to a window?
each corner beginning to fall off
and i am stuck to watching!

let me hum in to the future; i find it thrilling —
instead of saying “I explode” you say “I will”
or place that thought out on a dock in the fog at dark: to explode 
infinitive/forever! oh my god
the thought brings tears to my eyes

even better
when a promise is delicate,
posed as a gentle truth
i seize it with a gasp – that’s me!

it sways in me
i might be sick
but i am better off knowing it was there all along
and i was just waiting for it to come to me, that’s all

as it goes humming above your head
there may be light in it, but no matter

Standard

Leave a Reply

